Try my Paleo-Mix Recipie this weekend!

I have been making my own trail mix at home and it is amazing if I do say so myself.  It is so easy and you can pretty much make up your own mix, but here is the basic recipe.

Start with an assortment of raw nuts – almonds, sunflower seeds, walnuts, pumpkin seeds or whatever nuts you like.  Soak them in filtered water overnight (check this article for specific soaking and sprouting times for various nuts).  Rinse and pat dry.

Next, spread the nuts on a baking sheet and roast them at 300 degrees for about 30 min.  Update: Well it turns out that the beneficial enzymes in these little guys are denatured at high heat.  I now soak the nuts in salted, filtered water over night and then spread them on a baking sheet and set them in the sun all day to dry. (I will be using the dehydrator I just ordered in the future).  You could also dry them in the oven all day, but only if your oven’s warm setting  is below about 110, mine is 170 and that is too hot, it will denature the little guys!  And that means trouble for your digestive system.

Sprinkle the nuts with salt and a pinch of cinnamon to taste.  We made the latest batch with added smoked paprika, so yummy!  Add red pepper flakes for a bit of spice.  Get creative.  Let us know how it turns out!!!

Add some fun stuff.  I add dried cranberries, coconut flakes, and dates.  You could use dried banana, pineapple, mango, whatever!  Just read labels, a lot of dried fruit has tons of sugar and preservatives.  I am doing to start making my own soon.  I buy whole dates in bulk, remove the pits and cut the dates into smaller pieces, sometimes I will roll the date pieces in roasted sunflower seeds or coconut flakes before I throw them into the mix.  For a treat I mix in some organic dark chocolate chips.

Then I put a handful into individual ziplock bags so it is an easy grab-and-go snack!!!

Try out your own mix of ingredients, let me know what you think!

Central Market, Whole Foods and Georgia’s Farm to Market have nuts and dried fruits in bulk.  I buy my almonds in bulk from Amazon.  I HIGHLY suggest Amazon Prime – free 2 day shipping on most items!
Almonds Whole (Natural) 4 Pounds  New Source:  California Raw Almonds – 10 pounds

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Try my Paleo-Mix Recipie this weekend!

  1. Annaleis says:

    hey! made something similar but different and I’m addicted! I’ve been going after this instead of candy at the office, success! Anyways, I roasted cashews, sunflower seeds, sliced almonds (thats all they had at the store), and oats. Then I sprinkled them with cinnamon and added craisins (this is del rio – no organic ANYTHING here and it’s way too expensive to buy online…how many more months until i move?!) so craisins aren’t the best but it’s all i’ve got. anyways, delicious!

Leave a Reply

