Amazing Almond-Cran-Walnut Cookies

So we are on about day 13 of a 21 day detox.  Did I ever mention that as much as I LOVE what the detox does for my body by the end of it, that I HATE the actual detox!  Tonight I was whining about not wanting to drink another darn detox shake when my husband came to the rescue and suggested that we pull down the huge bag of almond flour I just bought and make some cookies.  Here is what we came up with, and let me just say we are on to something here, my husband has already eaten 4 of them! (and all the ingredients are Paleo and therefor allowed on our detox, whoo-hoo)

Almond-Cran-Walnut Cookies

Ingredients:

1 1/4 cup almond flour (Blanched Almond Meal Flour, 5 lb.)

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/4 cup butter, softened at room temperature

1 large egg – beaten

1 1/2 tsp vanilla

4 medjool dates – pitted and finely chopped

1/4 cup raw walnuts – chopped

1/4 cup dried cranberries (organic, no sugar added)

Pre-heat oven to 325 degrees. Stir together almond meal, baking soda and cinnamon, add butter and vanilla, blend until smooth (we use a stand mixer). Fold in walnuts, dates and cranberries. Chill batter in fridge for at least 30 minutes.  Spoon out teaspoon sized balls onto a greased or non-stick cookie sheet and flatten with a fork. Bake for 10-15 minutes. Watch cookies carefully, if you don’t cook them long enough they will be a bit moist and soggy, too long and they can burn quickly. Remove from oven and transfer to a baking rack to cool.  Although, I like to steal one while it is a bit warm, ok… I like to steal two!

Experiment with your own ingredients and amounts. Use more nuts if you like. Try pecans or cashews. Next time I am rolling the cookie balls in shredded coconut before cooking them. Add cacao or organic dark chocolate chips. Trust me on the dates, don’t leave them out, they are a great sweetener.  We did not add any extra sweetener, but your could add a touch of raw honey, or to keep it low glycemic try Xylitol.

Your kids will have no idea that these cookies are not loaded with sugar and other toxic ingredients. Haha, your husband will have no idea either 🙂

Have fun with it and post your own variations here for us to check out!

UPDATE: Before I even got a chance to post this blog my husband got a hold of the recipe and has now made these a few more times.  We are working on his addiction.  No kidding, I got up after him one morning and there were hot cookies on the counter top!  So sweet. Here are a few of Andrew’s variations.

Just Walnuts:  We ran out of cranberries so he made a batch with just walnuts and left the nuts kind of chunky.

Apple-Cinnamon:  Same basic recipe but instead of cranberries chop up some raw peeled apples and add a bit more cinnamon.

This entry was posted in Desserts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Amazing Almond-Cran-Walnut Cookies

  1. jen says:

    Love it sister! We are excited to start ours next week! Whoo hoo!

  2. Andrew says:

    She’s not kidding, these cookies are amazing…and I can eat as many as I want to 🙂

  3. Angela S says:

    Not doing the detox but love the cookie idea! We are a cookie family. Wish I was doing a detox! Need to talk to you about that kind of stuff again. Angela

    • kellycouch says:

      Call me anytime, I am happy to help you. As you know I highly suggest the PaleoDetox twice a year. We just finished it and I can tell a huge improvement in my energy and my mood. And last night my mother in law asked me what I did different to my face, she said I looked younger and was “glowing” – always nice to hear, and no I am not pregnant, yet! Even if you are not able to purchase the products for the detox right now, you can do a 21 day detox diet… perhaps I will find time to post a few blogs about detoxing soon…

  4. Annaleis says:

    Hey. Just ordered the flour online with my bday money- it was cheaper to get it straight from Honeyville’s website than Amazon (sorry, I’m so cheap!). Looking everywhere for organic dark chocolate but it is del rio and my options of anything organic/healthy is extremely limited. Can’t wait to try this recipe out! Keep sharing girl, love the posts!

    • kellycouch says:

      You are not cheap sister, frugal is the word, and it’s good. Thanks for the info for others about another option to order the almond flour. I am not sure how much the shipping was from Honeyville. We have Amazon Prime, it is like $75 a year but you get FREE 2 day shipping on almost everything and it is totally worth it for us! We order so much stuff on Amazon. If you find yourself ordering online a lot, Amazon Prime is the way to go!

  5. kellycouch says:

    UPDATE: in the original recipe I forgot to tell you to chill the batter for at least 30 minutes in the fridge before cooking!
    Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

