Bacon Wrapped Dates – yes really!

“Wow babe, blog that *#@%,” were my dear husbands exact words when he took a bite of this bacon wrapped date (I will let you fill in the blanks :))


We had dinner with his mom this week and she mentioned having bacon wrapped dates at a fancy restaurant.  We headed home that night to try it out.  I have really started to enjoy cooking, like really cooking, not just following a recipe… so I encourage all you “control freak rule followers” out there (like me)… experiment a little!!!

Everything is better with bacon! 

Bacon Wrapped Dates:

  • Dates
  • Bacon (we use Applegate Farms nitrate free)
  • Balsalmic vinegar

Preheat your oven to 425 degree.  Cut a slit longways in the date to remove the pit, pinch it closed, and wrap with bacon.  Bake for about 15 minutes.  Drizzle w/ balsamic vinegar. That’s it! Make as many as you want.  I made 6 to start with and we ate them ALL in about 5 minutes! (I don’t necessarily recommend that :))

Have you ever had a Mo’s Bacon Bar?  They are AMAZING.  So I figured let’s stuff the dates w/ chocolate and wrap em in bacon and bake them.  Yum.  I did not have chocolate but we had some cacoa nibs so used that.  I just cut a small slit in the date to remove the pit and then stuffed some cacoa nibs inside, wrapped w/ bacon and baked.  Gotta be honest, they were ok, but I think I like the plain version better.  But you experiment a little and tell us what you come up with!

This entry was posted in Desserts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bacon Wrapped Dates – yes really!

  1. thesavvystudent says:

    What an interesting combination!

  2. jen reyneri says:

    So we’ve made bacon wrapped dried figs before and they rock! Are they detox friendly 🙂

Leave a Reply

