Squash Vine Borer INVASION… Help!

We have tried to figure out if we are watering too much or too little.  All our plants are doing pretty well except our zucchini.  We have already had two fatalities and one more on the way.  I did a little investigating today and found out about the dreaded vine borers!  Wish someone had told us about them 2 weeks ago 🙂

It all started this morning when I went to water the plants and for the first time noticed what I thought was “root rot”… but we are in the middle of a drought, how could we possible be watering too much.  I found a picture that looks exactly like our plants look.  It is the larvae from a moth actually.  The moth lays the eggs on the plant and the larvae hatch and bore into the plant and destroy it in the process.  The moth is an ugly red and black thing… Drew and I noticed them last week but had no idea what they were. 

Now I was sure that vine borers had invaded my garden, I was mad!!!  I went on a hunt and sure enough, I found this little worm eating away at my plants!!!

I am not sure what to do from here.  I have read a lot of things like wrap the stems in tin foil, cover them with fresh soil, remove the eggs by hand, re-plant in July… any master gardeners out there??? We could use some advice!

This entry was posted in Urban Gardening and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Squash Vine Borer INVASION… Help!

  1. Mary Beth says:

    Mix in some diatomaceous earth around each plant, mixing it into the soil. If you plant anything new, put the diatomaceous earth with garden soil in the bottom of the hole where you will put the plant. Read online about it.

    Diatomaceous earth can be found at pool places, and maybe WalMart. It it almost like ground glass for slugs, worms, and insects.

  2. Pingback: Garden Update: killing grubs, pine needle mulch, first harvest! | Living Well…

  3. Jaci says:

    We have the same thing!! What did you do?

Leave a Reply

