Homemade Green Cleaning Products

I stumbled across this blog today Nature Moms… love it!  Here is a snippet from her post on natural home cleaning products.  I am totally going to get some glass spray bottles and make these things today!

A spray bottle.

Image via Wikipedia

Window Cleaner – Put 1/4 cup vinegar in a spray bottle along with several lemon peels and then fill to the top with water. Spray all surfaces and use a lint free rag to wipe off. Crumpled newspaper works well to wipe up after too.

Scented Soda Scrub – Mix several cups of baking soda with several drops of peppermint or Candy Cane blend essential oils. It smells heavenly and can be used as a deodorizer too. Often times I sprinkle it on carpet and then vacuum to make the whole house smell yummy. I use this along with my window cleaner to clean tubs and sinks.

Floor Cleaner– For floors I use a small amount of Dr. Bronner’s Castile Soap diluted in water and a 1/2 cup vinegar. Plain vinegar and water works too. I use a broom and dustpan to sweep them first (no vacuum) and I wash them by putting two cloth rags on the floor and sliding around on them with my feet…no mops. It is a good workout. Just put on some music…The Hustle…and away we go.

Be sure and visit her full post Eco-tip Green Cleaning for even more tips… And I added a book to my Amazon store you may wanna check out – Clean House Clean Planet

I am also on the look out for natural homemade skin care and beauty recipes!  So stay tuned…  For now, check this out… Apple Mint Toner!

This entry was posted in Green Living, Living Well and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Homemade Green Cleaning Products

  1. Lindsay says:

    I really like these Kelly. I would like to use Tea Tree oil too, but I know the smell isn’t for everyone. I don’t know if you use an all natural dish soap or what you use for dishes but I end up washing a lot of dishes one or two at a time and wasting lots of soap and someone put watered down dish soap in a spray bottle and cleaned dishes that way. I’m going to try it. Thanks for the post!!

    • kellycouch says:

      Hey girl… Thanks for checking out the blog. I am using the natural counter top and the window spray, love it. I also put a few drops of peppermint oil in a Tupperware if baking soda and sprinkle some in the bottom of our trash cans and use it to clean sinks, tub etc.
      I tried making the natural dish soap recipe from Nature Moms blog… Honestly did not like that one. I am on the hunt for a good recipe. Let me know what u find. I have some Natural Castille Soap, but it has not worked that great for dishes, maybe a spray bottle would help. Let me know if it works.

Leave a Reply

