Bannana Smoothie… so yummy!

This afternoon I was just craving something sort of cool and sweet.  I stumbled around the kitchen for a while before deciding on a BANANA SMOOTHIE. Totally hit the spot!

I have to be honest, I don’t really measure ingredients when I make a smoothie, I just dump a few things in the VitaMix and presto!  I also make a smoothie about every day, so I have just learned to eye ball it.  Friends tell me that theirs never turn out as well, to that I say, keep practicing, use a recipe for a while if you need to.  But eventually you will just “get it”… welcome to the wonderful world of smoothies.  They take about 5 minutes to make, don’t have all the crap nor cost near as much as the store bought kinds.  A BIG key is a great great blender like the Vitamix.  I know it is pricy, but well worth it!!! We are trying Raw Cows milk out this week that we get from Yonder Way Farms.  But you could use Almond or Hemp Milk etc.   For this smoothie I did not add any protein powder, but you totally could.  Bananas are a bit higher on the Glycemic Index so I grabbed a handful of pecans to snack on as well to balance things out and keep steady blood sugar control.

My Banana Smoothie:

  • 1 frozen banana (we peel and freeze ripe bananas regularly)
  • 1 fresh banana
  • 1/2 tsp Vanilla (you can use more or less)
  • Coconut Milk – (I dunno, I poured in a couple tablespoons or so).
  • 1/2 cup (give or take) Milk (raw cow’s milk, almond milk, hemp milk)

What are your favorite smoothie recipes???

This entry was posted in Desserts, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bannana Smoothie… so yummy!

  1. Lindsay says:

    Hey! Sounds tasty could I potentially add a nut butter to this does that help with the high glycemic index?

    • kellycouch says:

      Yes, you could totally add nut butter. And yes it will lower the total GI. See, you are getting the hang of this sister! Thanks for reading the blog! Hope it’s helpful.

Leave a Reply

