Easy Crock Pot Chicken & Vege Soup

Cool weather and easy crock-pot soups just seem to go together for me!  So here is a great crockpot chicken and vege soup for ya.  If you have cooked with me before you know that I just like to throw whatever I have in the kitchen in a soup or stir fry, and I am not big on measurements.  This recipe is no different.  I use my food processor to chop and slice all the yummy veges!!!  If you don’t have a food processor, consider asking for it as a gift sometime, like Christmas, I am so so glad I have mine 🙂

Next time I am going to buy double the veges and while I have the food processor out and making a mess I am going to chop extra veges and put them in a freezer bag to just dump into the crock pot for my next batch of soup!

Ingredients:

1 Whole Chicken rubbed with olive oil and salt (we get pastured chickens from Yonder Way Farm).  If you have time to soak it in about 1/4c salt water for a few hours, do it.

1-2 Zucchini

1-2 Yellow Squash

1 bag of Parsnips (I have also used a japanese yam before)

1 bag of Carrots

1 bunch of Celery (with leaves)

1 Onion

Handful of Baby Bok Choy (I have also used spinach or cabbage)

Several garlic cloves

1 large 28oz can Organic Diced Tomatoes

Chicken Broth

Chop up your veges.  Sauté the carrots and parsnips (or yams) in coconut oil a few minutes till soft.  Dump everything into the crock-pot and stir.  I fill my crock pot almost to the top with veges then make a big hole in the middle to set the chicken in breast side down.  Top with diced tomatoes and enough chicken broth to cover.  Cook on High about 6 hours or low 10 hours.  In the last hour add desired spices – try a mix of basil, rosemary, and oregano.

Again, get creative, you can really use whatever veges are in your kitchen.  I like to add butternut squash sometimes in the last 2 hours of cooking.  Just peel it and cube it.  if you add it at the beginning it will add a nice flavor and thicken the soup and bit, but it will turn to mush 🙂

When done cooking I pull the chicken out and pull the meat off the bone and add back to the soup.  The meat will just fall off the bones!  I drop the chicken carcass (bones and skin) in a pot of filtered salted water and make chicken broth for my next batch of soup!

 

 

Remember, get creative, let us know what’s in your soup!!!

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

