Pregnancy Update: supplements, nausea, and sleep!

Another high-resolution, macro-mode picture of...

Well, we are about 7 1/2 weeks pregnant.  I am still really tired.  Who knew a baby the size of a blueberry could wear me out already!!!  🙂  I had a complete meltdown at the grocery store the other day.  I could not find anything, I forgot half the things I went for (and yes I had a list), I was short of breath just walking the aisles and almost ended up in tears when they were out of my favorite herbal tea.  I felt so completely and utterly ridiculous!  Haha, then I was chatting with a friend who just found out they were pregnant and I asked her how she was feeling.  Oh, it felt so good when we were both able to laugh as she described the exact same grocery store melt-down!!!

Ever since Lindsay told me I needed 10-12 hours of sleep, I have learned to love naps!  That helps so much.  I find on the days that I am able to rest more, I feel so much better, less nausea and mood swings for sure.  It is hard some days, I do feel pretty lazy 🙂 and I love being able to just rest all at the same time.  And, I feel so fortunate that I have an incredibly supportive husband.  

I am a health care professional, and I have to say that there is so much conflicting info out there on pre-natal nutrition and supplements that even I’m confused.  Here is what I have come up with so far. 

  • Protein – 1.2-1.5gm/kg.  Take your body weight in pounds and divide by 2.2 to get kg and then multiple by 1.2 and by 1.5 to get your protein range.  It should range from 60-100gms/day.   Read more…  Some sources suggest a generalized 100gms/day, I do not think that is necessary unless your body weight is higher and thus your protein demands are higher.  Read More by Loren Cordain… 
  1. 3 oz Chicken = 25 gm
  2. 1 egg = 6gm
  3. 3oz Turkey = 27 gm
  4. 3oz Beef = 20 gm
  5. 3oz Salmon = 17 gm
  6. 1/4 cup Walnuts = 6 gm
  • Vitamin D – 5,000IU/day.  It is really important that you have your Vit D levels checked, and unfortunately many Ob’s don’t order this lab test routinely.  Your level should be 60ng/ml at a minimum and ideally 80-90ng/ml.  Women with low Vit D are at higher risk for pre-ecclampsia, preterm births and more.  “Drs. Hollis and Wagner found that over 87 percent of all newborns and over 67 percent of all mothers had vitamin D levels lower than 20 ng/ml, which is a severe deficiency state. As a result, the researchers recommended that all mothers optimize their vitamin D levels during pregnancy.”  (Read more…)
  • Omega 3 fatty acids – I am taking a high quality Omega 3 with DHA and EPA from Designs for Health (Nordic Naturals is another good choice).   I am still doing some research here on the exact ratio and amounts that are best in pregnancy.  What I am finding so far is that 1,000mg DHA is recommended.  More to come…
  • My prenatal vitamin has 800mcg of natural folate.  My midwife suggested 1,000mcg, so I may add a little more folate.  My pre-natal also has other b-complex vitamins which help with nausea.  I would suggest to any soon to be mommies reading this blog… do your homework and find a good pre-natal. Don’t just go to your local drugstore, that stuff is crap, really!!!  Also, it is important that you DO NOT take folic acid.  Folic Acid is synthetic and increases risk of colon cancer and other chronic disease.  Be sure your pre-natal has Natural Folate!!!  Also, check the labels on your snack foods and pastas etc, many are fortified with folic acid.  Read More…   a client of mine or want to know more about the Designs For Health product line that I use drop me an email kellycouch@me.com>

Morning sickness???  I guess that is what I am feeling.  I have not thrown up, but I have a sort of an ongoing feeling of queasiness.  I have found that Lemon-Ginger tea helps (just check the label for hidden ingredients not recommended in pregnancy.  Read More… ) I also tried some crystalized ginger, not sure about that yet.  I also used a few drops of peppermint essential oil on my pillow at night…. so yummy!  I don’t know if it helped with nausea, but it was super comforting.  I did buy some gluten free almond-rice crackers as a saltine substitute.  Honestly, they might have helped with early morning and late night nausea a bit… but the effects on my digestive system from the rice grains may not be worth it.  But, that may have something to do with the fact that I ate a whole box in one day.  I have to admit, although I don’t believe grains are good for me, those darn crackers are really good.  That said, I may not buy them again.  If I do I may have to have my husband ration them out to me a few a night only 🙂  So I am still searching for a good paleo alternative if anyone has any suggestions!!!

This entry was posted in Paleo Pregnancy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pregnancy Update: supplements, nausea, and sleep!

  1. Angela says:

    Are you serious? I didn’t know I needed a math major to have babies! 😉 I know you love all this! Just remember there is a baby growing in there, not a machine. ;-)…. love ya
    Angela

    • kellycouch says:

      Haha, true… and coming from a woman who has done this SEVEN times (or is it eight now?, I can’t even keep up), likely good advice. At the same time, we live in a modern toxic world and the number of women having miscarriages and other pregnancy related complications is dramatically increasing. And I do think that sometimes it has a lot to do with the food (and toxins) we put in our bodies as well as the “do more accomplish more” American mentality!!! My hope is to make it less complicating and stressful for others, not more. Still, you are right. There is a lot of spiritual nurture that must happen in addition to the physical things. And we mommys-to-be all need to find that balance. That said, I am about to go read some scripture over my baby!!!! Thanks sister for contributing to the blog!!! Your wisdom in priceless.

Leave a Reply

