Pregnancy Resources

We are now beginning our third trimester of pregnancy.  I have a mix of feelings between “oh my gosh it has gone by so fast” to “oh my gosh when is she gonna be here.”  Here are a few resources I have collected over the past few months.

GREAT BOOKS:

Our FAVORITE Store.  Nurtured Family – check them out online or in person.  We just registered for our baby showers there.  And I attended a GREAT class on both baby wearing and cloth diapering.  So helpful.

Check out this link for pregnancy exercises (like Kegals and Pelvic Rock) that will help prepare your body for delivery.  JUST DO IT!!!  Check out You-Tube for many great Pre-Natal Pilates videos.  

The Katy Birth Center – Our midwife, Connie, is just fantastic.  We are having a home birth and very at peace about it.  If you live in the Houston area and are open to considering birth with a midwife either at the birth center or your home I encourage you to visit KBC.  They have an open meeting once a week to meet the midwives and learn more about natural and out of hospital delivery options. Check out ChrisKresser.com for great articles on natural childbirth.

Read these articles to learn more about epidurals and pitocin (drug used to induce labor) so that you can make an educated decision for you and your baby.

Bradley Method Natural Childbirth Classes – We are in our second week of Bradley classes at the Katy Birth Center – Karen is our instructor and she is wonderful.  I can’t encourage this birth class enough.  You can also check out the book “Natural Childbirth the Bradley Way”

The Bulk Herb Store – Get a 1/2 pound bag of organic Red Raspberry Leaf tea for about $7.00.   Each morning I boil a teapot of water, add a mesh tea strainer full of loose tea, brew for 10 min, pour into a large glass pitcher, add cold water and a few drops of stevia and put if in the fridge and drink from it all day.

Meridian Family Chiropractic – Dr. Denise Smith – I started getting regular chiropractic adjustments in the middle on my 2nd trimester when I was having pretty sever sciatica and back pain.  Dr. Smith taught me stretches and activities to do at home on a big exercise ball and the relief was fast and impressive.  I also get pre-natal massage by Talina – so nice!!!

MY SUPPLEMENT LIST – I take Designs for Health Supplements (DFH) primarily.  This is a professional product line that I have used myself and offered to clients for about 10 years.  If you would like more information about ordering products or to schedule a supplement consultation shoot me an email kellycouch@me.com.

  • Pre-Natal Pro – the important thing about this supplement is that it has “natural folate” and NOT folic acid (click the link to read more).  Be sure your pre-natal is natural folate.  Folic Acid has been indicated in many health problems, including certain cancers.
  • Vitamin D  – 5,000iu and a daily dose of sunshine 🙂
  • B12-Folate – my pre-natal has the suggested 800mcg of natural folate, but my midwife says that up to 1,000mcg is preferable.
  • Calcium/Magnesium – don’t just take “tums” and think that you are actually absorbing adequate calcium.  Your baby need strong bones and loading up on milk is NOT the answer.  Take a good quality calcium supplement.
  • Probiotics – Important for healthy digestion and vaginal flora.  Don’t skip this one.
  • Fiber – I take DFH PaleoFiber.  It is a great berry flavored powder and let me just say this… it works 🙂
  • Plant Digestive Enzymes – I take this as needed for indigestion and digestions issues – it’s a lifesaver.
  • Nordic Naturals Pro-DHA – this is the one product that I do not use DFH.  I also do not take the Nordic Naturals Pre-Natal.  This Pro-DHA has higher levels of DHA and is preferred by my midwife.
  • I also take L-Glutamine and Vitamin C from DFH.
Check out AskDRSears.com and ChrisKresser.com for more GREAT resources! Also www.WhattoExpect.com is a great online tool and I love the iPhone app.  Or click on the Paleo Pregnancy category to the right anytime to read my other blog posts about pregnancy.

Hope this helps, I will update it as I learn more.  If I can answer questions, pray for you, or support you in any way just let me know.

This entry was posted in Paleo Pregnancy and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pregnancy Resources

  1. Pingback: Pregnancy Update: Final Weeks and new supplements | Living Well…

Leave a Reply

