Easy Chicken Salad

Our first child is due in 6 weeks, a baby girl.  I have been compiling a list of easy recipes, things that freeze well, or things that can be made with left overs, or with whatever I happen to have in the kitchen.  This is a whatever is in the kitchen recipe.  I had just gotten my co-op box from Rawfully Organic so I had lots of yummy organic veges and I had a few chicken breasts in the fridge that I had thawed out for another recipe that I never made and they needed to be cooked.   So here is an EASY chicken salad recipe that is great for lunches and a quick meal!

  1. Boil the chicken breasts in salter water for about 30 min.  Then use the plastic dough blade in your food processor and pulse to shred the chicken.  You can do this with a fork, but the food processor is SO much easier.  If you don’t have one, and are considering a Paleo lifestyle, get one!!!!  It will save TONS of time.  Dump the chicken in a big bowl.  Also a great way to use left over grilled chicken, you could even use BBQ chicken for a different flavor!
  2. Using the “S” blade on your food processor chop up applecucumberonion, celery, basil leaves and fresh parsley (from our garden – don’t leave the parsley out it gives a great flavor) or whatever veges you have that day and toss em in your salad.  I also sliced some cherry tomatoes and tossed them in the bowl.
  3. Add a few big spoons of Organic Greek Yogurt.  Add some Dijon Mustard, Garlic Powder and Fresh Dill then salt and pepper  – I did everything to taste – no measuring spoons on this one. 

That’s it… I wrapped it up in a lettuce wrap for a nice cool summer lunch!   Enjoy!


This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

